Tag Archives: NHL

Humpday History Highlight

Montreal Wanderers

December 19, 1917 – The NHL Opens Its First Season

On this day in 1917, four teams of the National Hockey League (NHL) play in the fledgling league’s first two games. At the time of its inception, the NHL was made up of five franchises: the Canadiens and the Wanderers (both of Montreal), the Ottawa Senators, the Quebec Bulldogs and the Toronto Arenas. The Montreal teams won two victories that first day, as the Canadiens beat Ottawa 7-4 and the Wanderers triumphed over Toronto 10-9.

Ironically, 95 years later, the NHL is facing yet another work stoppage. Frakkers.